C.Faith Holland

Soul Coaching

Thoughts and Quotes for Today 12.7.12 December 7, 2012

Filed under: Love — C. Faith Holland @ 12:47 pm

1. Miracles occur naturally as expressions of love. They are performed by those who temporarily have more for those who temporarily have less.  ~ ACIM

2. You cannot be lonely if you like the person you’re alone with. ~Wayne Dyer

3. We can invite feeling acceptance into our lives by;

* Becoming aware of when we are complaining and blaming people, things or situations.

* Becoming aware of our beliefs which can be preventing us from accepting the situation.

* Asking ourselves how it is serving us not to have acceptance in our current situation?

* Focusing on and being grateful for all the many blessings we have in our lives.

* Practicing letting go in the moment and saying whatever will be, will be.

Your Heart and My Heart are very, very old friends.

Your Heart and My Heart are very, very old friends.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. A great writing from Jacob Glass yesterday…

19. The Way

“When the highest type hear the Tao,
They try hard to live in accordance with it,
When the mediocre type hear the Tao,

They seem to be aware and yet unaware of it.
When the lowest type hear the Tao,
They break into laughter –
If it were not laughed at, it would not be Tao.”
– Lao Tse
I am and have always been an unrelenting Romantic in all matters of life. It is a completely ridiculous and unrealistic way to go through this mercenary world of the ego that we find ourselves in . . . and I would not have it any other way. It is the extreme opposite of most everything that the world holds dear and it puts one at odds with most every culture living on the earth today. And yet, the more I have surrendered to it . . . and the more I have abandoned the world I see around me, the happier and happier I have become.
The romantic life is not about passionate paperback novels and travel to exotic locations . . . at least not necessarily. It means nothing more or less than putting Divine Love at the center of your life as the be-all and end-all. It is foolish and silly and ridiculously eccentric. And please understand the distinction I make – I said Divine Love, not human attached love. Divine Love leaves one without schemes, strategies, enticements, prizes, survival techniques or any of the things that this world seduces us into turning to as power.
To make human romantic love the center of one’s life . . . well, that cultivates the personality of Blanche Dubois who always counts on the kindness of strangers, soft lighting, a genteel manner and flirtatiousness as power – and it leads to hell one way or another given enough time. It leads to suffering because the human heart of the small self is a terrible leader. To follow the human is is as much a path of suffering as to follow only the monkey mind. The human heart and mind are meant to be followers and servants, not leaders. They are designed to be the servants of the Christ Consciousness within us.
For many many years I was a “human romantic” – and that is an emotional roller coaster that is every bit as painful and stressful as the life of sheer relentless mental ambition.  It was a path of learning through pain rather than joy. It nearly killed me a few times. But remember, the Course tells us that learning IS change – and I did learn as I went. The Holy Spirit is not a Teacher who “gets rid of” but rather a Teacher Who TRANSFORMS. We are told, “The Holy Spirit knows that you have made special relationships – which He would purify and not let you destroy.” And that meant that my romantic tendencies were not destroyed but purified and transformed . . . through SURRENDER to God’s Grace. That means I had to LET GO, in order to go from “human romantic” to “Divine Romantic.”
It happened gradually over time. In worldly terms, I’ve failed my way up the ladder of success through this life of Grace in which God is at the center of everything in my world. I live a life that is the exact opposite of so many of my fellow humans and yet I do love being out among people, though I never forget that I am simply visiting here – in the world but not of it.
Recently at lunch my table was extremely close to the table next to me and there was no way to not overhear the loud long conversation of a 30-something man who was telling an very specific story of how he was methodically reeling in a guy he had just begun dating. He talked about how long he waits to return his phone calls, how he always makes the new guy wait to see him, how he is making the guy want and miss him more – and about the guys he is merely having sex within the meantime. He talked about an extremely exhausting and rigorous workout routine he is in to get in tip-top condition so that he will be as desirable as possible. It was one of those “strategies” that people develop in relationships which are so popular and wildly depressing because they are based on “needs” which is really nothing more than figuring out how to rob another person through deal-making. It was another example the mercenary path of the human heart and it’s relentless search for love – the search which it can never find because no matter how much it gets, it is insatiable and it’s motto is “seek but do not find.”
And everything he was saying was no different than the schemes and strategies I overhear from others about how they are going to buy their first home, make their 5 year plan happen, get their project made, get rid of their illnesses, promote and “brand” their company, whip their kids into shape, pinpoint and claim a good provider to give them the home and children they long for . . .  or any number of ways to make sure their needs will get met, which they are simply sure will guarantee their happiness and success in the world.
But my way is the extreme opposite. And it is highly laughable to the entire world. It is my path to joy and peace in my now – and now is all there ever is. People ask me about it all the time, and when I describe it, few believe me and most find it hilarious to even consider. I don’t mind at all. I am happy if their way is working for them. In fact, I actively encourage others to try everything else in the world before them come to the Tao – and if something else works for them, go for it. I’m the crazy old monk sitting on a tree branch throwing stones at the people who pass by, in case one of them wants to wake up from the nightmare and try something else.
It’s a path of love and romance . . . unlike the love and romance of novels and movies. It’s the opposite of the path of paying and getting – it’s about giving and receiving. It’s not about strategizing and fixing, it’s about savoring and enjoying. It’s not about holding on until you get what you want, it’s about letting go and wanting what you have. It’s the path of the Urban Mystic.
